The Hat – Homemade Halloween Continued

Standard

Olivea's Unfelted Hat

Another integral part of Olivea’s gnome outfit is the pointed pink hat.  I used this Gnome Pattern, but switched it up from a light weight yarn to use lamb’s pride bulky again. With 10.5 needles I cast on 76 stitches, and instead of 4 rows between decreases I used 2 rows between.

One run through the washer and dryer and it fit me, a second run through the washing machine and it fit Liv. The final step was to add on some needle felted flowers. So yesterday I bought a needle felting kit and went at it last night. Needle felting is a blast. I will definitely be using this technique to embellish more in the future.

One wash later, it fits my big head.


The Felted Hat

Leave a Reply

